Meet our faculty

35 participating faculty members from three Faculties (Sciences, Engineering and Health Sciences) across 7 departments, and includes a number of nationally and internationally recognized research leaders (7 present and 3 former CRC holders, 2 CIHR Special Investigator award holders), and several emerging researchers.

Paul-Ayers

Paul Ayers

B.Sc. (Lipscomb), Ph.D. (UNC Chapel Hill)

e-mail: ayers@mcmaster.ca

Density functional theory; computational modelling of enzymes

Paul-J.-Berti

Paul J. Berti

B.Sc. (Waterloo), M.Sc. (Ottawa), Ph.D. (McGill)

email: berti@mcmaster.ca

Microbiological Biochemistry and Antimicrobial Research

Bishop

Russell Bishop

B.Sc., Ph.D. (Alberta)

email: bishopr@mcmaster.ca

Biogenesis of the Gram-negative Cell Envelope

Dawn-Bowdish

Dawn Bowdish

B.Sc. (Guelph) Ph.D. (British Columbia)

email: bowdish@mcmaster.ca

Roll of the Macrophage Scavenger Receptors in Host Defence

John-D.-Brennan

John D. Brennan

B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D. (Toronto)

email: brennanj@mcmaster.ca

Bioanalytical Chemistry and High Throughput Screening

PHILLIP-BRITZ-MCKIBBIN

Philip Britz-McKibbin

B.Sc. (Toronto), Ph.D. (British Columbia)

email: britz@mcmaster.ca

Bioanalytical chemistry; separation science; metabolomics; cellulomics

Michael-A.-Brook

Michael A. Brook

B.Sc. (Toronto) , Ph.D. (McGill)

email: mabrook@mcmaster.ca

Silicon-based Biomaterials

Eric-Brown

Eric Brown

B.Sc., Ph.D. (Guelph)

email:  ebrown@mcmaster.ca

Microbiological Biochemistry and Antimicrobial Research

Lori-Burrows

Lori Burrows

B.Sc., Ph.D. (Guelph)

email: burrowl@mcmaster.ca

Bacterial Adhesins and Biofilm Formation

Fred-Capretta

Fred Capretta

B.Sc., Ph.D. (McMaster)

email: capretta@mcmaster.ca

Organic synthesis and medicinal chemistry, parallel synthesi

Brian-Coombes

Brian Coombes

B.Sc., Ph.D. (McMaster)

email: coombes@mcmaster.ca

Microbiological Biochemistry and Antimicrobial Research Cell Biology and Gene Regulation

Marie-Elliot

Marie Elliot

B.Sc., Ph.D. (Alberta)

email: melliot@mcmaster.ca

Bioinformatics & Functional Genomics, Microbiology & Plant Biology

Epand

Richard M. Epand

A.B. (Johns Hopkins), Ph.D. (Columbia)

email: epand@mcmaster.ca

Cell Biology and Regulation

filipe

Carlos Filipe

B.Sc. (Catholic Portuguese University), Ph.D. (Clemson University)

email: filipec@mcmaster.ca

Applied molecular biology, recombinant protein expression and purification, engineering mRNA for stability and readability

Finan

Turlough Finan

M.Sc. (National), Ph.D. (Guelph)

email: finan@mcmaster.ca

Molecular genetic studies on symbiotic N2-fixation and phosphate metabolism; plasmid genetics

Fradin

Cecile Fradin

B.Sc., M.Sc. (Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris, France),
Ph.D. (Univ. Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, France) Molecular Biophysics

email: fradin@physics.mcmaster.ca

Molecular Biophysics

Alba-Guarné

Alba Guarne

B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D. (Barcelona)

email: guarnea@mcmaster.ca

Biological X-ray Crystallography; Structural Biology and Protein/Nucleic Acid Structure/Function

Paul-H.M.-Harrison

Paul H.M. Harrison

B.A.Hons.(Chem.) (Oxford), Ph.D. (Alberta)

email: pharriso@mcmaster.ca

M.C.I.C. Bioorganic chemistry; biosynthetic processes; biomimetics

Hitchcock

Adam Hitchcock

B.Sc. (McMaster), Ph.D. (UBC )

email:  aph@mcmast

F.C.I.C. Electron impact and synchrotron spectroscopies; X-ray microscopy of proteins

Li

Yingfu Li

B.Sc. (Anhui), M.Sc. (Beijing), Ph.D. (Simon Fraser)

email:  liying@mcmaster.ca

Structural Biology and Protein/Nucleic Acid Structure/Protein

 

 

PHOTO NOT AVAILABLE

 

 

 

 

Yu Lu

B.Sc., M.Sc (Fudan), Ph.D. (U of Washington)

email: yu.lu@mcmaster.ca

Proteomics, Protein/Nucleic Acid interactions and Stem cell biology

Nathan-Magarvey

Nathan A. Magarvey

B.Sc., Ph.D. (Minnesota)

email: magarv@mcmaster.ca

Natural product chemical biology and drug discovery.

 

 

PHOTO NOT AVAILABLE

 

 

 

 

 Andrew McArthur

H.B.Sc., (Western Ontario) Ph.D. (Victoria)

email: mccarthua@mcmaster.ca

Bioinformatics, functional genomics, and computational biology.

McNulty

James McNulty

B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D. (Toronto)

email:  jmcnult@mcmaster.ca

Synthesis; organophosphine chemistry; anticancer drugs; natural product isolation

Melacini

Giuseppe Melacini

B.Sc., (Milano), Ph.D. (Milano, U. of San Diego)

email:  melacin@mcmaster.ca

Biological NMR, protein structure & dynamics, biomolecular interactions, structural genomics

Jose-M.-Moran-Mirabal

Jose M. Moran-Mirabal

B.Sc., M.Sc. (ITESM, Mexico), Ph.D. (Cornell University, USA)

e-mail: mirabj@mcmaster.ca

High Resolution Fluorescence Microscopy, Micro and Nanofabrication

Ortega

Joaquin Ortega

B.Sc. (Zaragoza), Ph.D. (Autónoma de Madrid)

email: ortegaj@mcmaster.ca

Electron Microscopy Studies of the HtrA family of Proteases

Pelton

Robert Pelton

B.Sc., M.Sc. (University of Guelph) Ph.D. (Bristol University)

email: peltonrh@mcmaster.ca

Polymer colloids, water soluble polymers, interfacial engineering, flocculation, and latex’s

Sheardown

Heather Sheardown

B.Eng. (McMaster), Ph.D. (Toronto)

email: sheardow@mcmaster.ca

Biomaterials, tissue engineering, mathematical modeling of physiologic processes, ophthalmic drug delivery.

Trigatti

Bernardo Tragatti

B.Sc., Ph.D. (McMaster)

email: trigatt@mcmaster.ca

Cell Biology and Regulation

Ray-Truant

Ray Truant

B.Sc., Ph.D. (Toronto)

email: trigatt@mcmaster.ca

Cell Biology and Regulation

Murray-S.-Junop

John F. Valliant

B.Sc., Ph.D. (McMaster)

email: valliant@mcmaster.ca

Medicinal inorganic and radiopharmaceutical chemistry

Geoff-Werstuck

Geoff Werstuck

B.Sc., Ph.D. (McMaster)

email: gwerstuck@thombosis.hhscr.org

Diabetes mellitus; cardiovascular disease

Gerard-D.-Wright

Gerard D. Wright

B.Sc., Ph.D. (Waterloo)

email:  wrightge@mcmaster.ca

Microbiological Biochemistry and Antimicrobial Research

ryan-wylie

Ryan Wylie

B.Sc. (Concordia), Ph.D. (Toronto)

email: wylier@mcmaster.ca

Interface of Biomaterials and Photonics

Jianping-Xu

Jianping Xu

B.Sc. (Concordia), Ph.D. (Toronto)

email: jpxu@mcmaster.ca

Ecology & Evolution, Microbiology & Plant Biology